Feeds:
Posts
Comments

The future of radio

170464222_da4f851421

I love listening to music. When I’m in a particular mood, finding just the right song makes me feel like I have my very own soundtrack to my life. Unfortunately, I have great difficulty finding music I love. I have very different tastes to the rest of my friends so just coming across a song I love is not common. 
Imagine my delight when I discovered Pandora Radio. Pandora lets you type in a song or artist you like and instantly find other music that might fit your taste. Usually it is spot on and once you’ve customised it a little, you’ll probably find you love every song it suggests. And now for the best part…it’s FREE! 

When you create a radio station on Pandora, it uses a pretty radical approach to delivering your personalized selections: Having analyzed the musical structures present in the songs you like, it plays other songs that possess similar musical traits. Pandora relies on a Music Genome that consists of 400 musical attributes covering the qualities of melody, harmony, rhythm, form, composition and lyrics.  ~ How Stuff Works

Last night I entered Fragma into Pandora and happily danced away to some funky beats for a few hours. Yes, I’m one of those people who loves turning up the music and dancing like no-one is watching. My husband just shakes his head.

Photo by: bricolage

4 Responses

  1. Pandora is just excellent. The whole “music genome” thing is a little kitchy, but by golly it really does work to play music I like.

    There’s a free app for your iphone/itouch too if you have one. It essentially means my 16GB iphone has turned into on that hold all the music in the world.

    Patrick
    veryevolved.com


  2. on January 16, 2009 at 10:21 am livingmyrichlife

    Patrick: I have the application for my iPhone as well, but I find that it’s a little slow to buffer the songs when on data roaming. Have you had that problem?


  3. Yes it’s not always the best. I’ve turned off push and seen an improvement though.


  4. Pandora is a favorite of mine, also. Your blog is beautiful. I love the photographs.



Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

